Checking progress and understanding

I often found myself relying on one method when checking understanding in lessons – usually asking questions and students putting hands up – lazy I know. I can’t remember where I got hold of it, but I found a ppt where different tasks were displayed to check understanding. If this looks similar to something you originally produced a few years back then thank you for the inspiration – also let me know and I will credit you.

I have modified it and you can see the result by clicking on the image below:

plenary grid hat

Every now and again, to check understanding (and break things up a bit) stick the ppt up and get a student to pull a numbered card from a hat. Click the number on the ppt which takes you to the appropriate task and the student responds.

Nothing mind blowing or revolutionary, but I found it a useful way of remembering to vary tasks a bit. Each term take one or two out and replace with new ones.

